[fcb-l] FW: [CALOOSA97COAI] NEW AREA CODE 809//*** WATCH OUT
Jay Bader
jbadddman at gmail.com
Mon Jul 16 18:08:40 EDT 2012
Hi all. Please do not reply to this message. This is an informational item
only.
Thanks.
Jay
-----Original Message-----
From: fcb-l-bounces at acb.org [mailto:fcb-l-bounces at acb.org] On Behalf Of
Michael Ullrich
Sent: Monday, July 16, 2012 5:26 PM
To: fcb-l at acb.org
Subject: [fcb-l] FW: [CALOOSA97COAI] NEW AREA CODE 809//*** WATCH OUT
Hi everyone!
Please read about this latest scam down below.
Thanks,....Mike
Michael D. Ulrich
President
Southwest Florida Council of the Blind
"Providing insight for blindness"
Home phone: 239-540-7431
Cell phone: 239-565-5845
-----Original Message-----
From: dixie0907 at aol.com [mailto:dixie0907 at aol.com]
Sent: Monday, July 16, 2012 5:13 PM
To: Mulrich at centurylink.net
Subject: Fwd: [CALOOSA97COAI] NEW AREA CODE 809//*** WATCH OUT
Hi!
This might be important to send to members. It has been verified as true by
SNOPES. Dixie
-----Original Message-----
From: Kent Sheets <SHEETSKENT at aol.com>
To: sheetskent <sheetskent at aol.com>
Sent: Fri, Jul 13, 2012 8:47 pm
Subject: [CALOOSA97COAI] NEW AREA CODE 809//*** WATCH OUT
Watch out for this new AREA CODE 809
At the bottom of this it says AT&T and SNOPES verify it is true/
Begin forwarded message:
Subject: FW: NEW AREA CODE 809//*** WATCH OUT
WARNING
Costly NEW AREA CODE: READ AND PASS ALONG
809 Area Code
We actually received a call last week from the 809 area code.
The woman said 'Hey, this is Karen.
Sorry I missed you, get back to us quickly.
I have something important to tell you.'
Then she repeated a phone number beginning with 809.
We did not respond. Then this week, we received the following e-mail:
Do Not DIAL AREA CODE 809, 284,
AND 876 from the U.S. or Canada.
THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT INFORMATION PROVIDED TO US BY AT&T. DON'T EVER DIAL
AREA CODE 809
This one is being distributed all over the US ... This is pretty scary,
especially given the way they try to get you to call.
Be sure you read this and pass it on.
They get you to call by telling you that it is information about a family
member who has been ill or to tell you someone has been arrested, died, or
to let you know you have won a wonderful prize, etc..
In each case, you are told to call the 809 number right away.
Since there are so many new area codes these days, people unknowingly
return these calls.
If you call from the U.S. or Canada,
you will apparently be charged a minimum of$2425 per minute.
And you'll also get a long recorded message.
The point is, they will try to keep
you on the phone as long as possible to increase the charges.
WHY IT WORKS:
The 809 area code is located in the Dominican Republic .
The charges afterward can become a real nightmare.
That's because you did actually make the call.
If you complain, both your local phone company and your long distance
carrier will not want to get involved and will most likely tell you that
they are simply providing the billing for the foreign company.
You'll end up dealing with a foreign
company that argues they have done nothing wrong.
Please forward this entire message to your friends, family and colleagues
to help them become aware of this scam.
AT&T VERIFIES IT'S TRUE : http://www.att.com/gen/press-room?pid=6045
<http://www.att.com/gen/press-room?pid=6045>
SNOPES VERIFIES IT'S
TRUE:http://search.atomz.com/search/?sp-q=area+code+809&x=26&y=15&sp-
a=00062d45-sp00000000&sp-advanced=1&sp-p=all&sp-w-control=1&sp-w=alike&sp
-date-range=-1&sp-x=any&sp-c=100&sp-m=1&sp-s=0
<http://www.incredimail.com/?id=619267&did=10500&ppd=2727%2c201107
241502%2c9%2c1%2c85220011579852017&rui=126375429&app_test_id=0&sd=2012062
4>
------ End of Forwarded Message
No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
Version: 8.5.455 / Virus Database: 271.1.1/5132 - Release Date: 07/15/12
18:34:00
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
Version: 8.5.455 / Virus Database: 271.1.1/5132 - Release Date: 07/15/12
18:34:00
_______________________________________________
fcb-l mailing list
fcb-l at acb.org
http://www.acb.org/mailman/listinfo/fcb-l
More information about the fcb-l
mailing list