November 20, 2001, Board Meeting Minutes

American Council of the Blind
Conference Call
November 20, 2001

The meeting was called to order by President Chris Gray at 8:35pm Central Time.

Roll call was taken by the secretary and all were present except Mr. Alan Beatty and Mr. Steve Speicher.

Mr. Mark Silver was introduced to the Board. Mr. Silver made a presentation to the Board on having “House Parties” for fundraisers.

Motion 1: Ms. Dawn Christensen moved to reconsider the motion brought forth during the conference call meeting on November 6, 2001 to increase the Resource Development Committee allocation from $20,000 to $37,500. On a roll call vote, the motion carried. Those voting in favor of the motion were: Mr. Annunzio, Ms. Bazyn, Dr. Bradley, Mr. Charlson, Ms. Christensen, Mr. Edwards, Ms. Grubb, Mr. Miller, Mr. Pomerantz, Mr. Sanderson, Ms. Schmitt and Ms. Seliger. Mr. Alexander cast the only dissenting vote.

Motion 2: Mr. Sandy Sanderson moved to increase the $20,000 to $28,350 which would include the book signing project. (For clarification only, the four items included in the $20,000 amount are: the Fielding item; the capacity grants; Lions Clubs and Internet underwriting.) On a roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Motion 3: Mr. Paul Edwards moved that within two weeks the President, the chair of the Resource Development Committee and the Executive Director jointly submit to this Board a detailed expenditure plan for the $28,350 that was approved. With a roll call vote, the motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Ed Bradley presented a request from the chair of the Exhibit Committee to increase the cost of a large booth price by $50 in the exhibit hall at the ACB annual convention.

Motion 4: Mr. Brian Charlson moved that we increase the large booth by $50, the medium-size booth by $25 and small booth by $15. The motion passed unanimously.

Motion 5: Ms. Dawn Christensen moved to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 10:17 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,
Donna Seliger, Secretary