And the Winner Is…

by Mike Godino

After convention this year in Dallas, the ACB MMS committee had one last drawing to complete: choosing the grand prize winner of the Victor Stream. Throughout the year the MMS committee comes to you at the national conference and convention, your local affiliate conventions and from the pages of “The ACB Braille Forum” requesting your participation in the program. For your participation, we provide you with various gifts for our appreciation while offering you the opportunity to win the grand prize. Unfortunately, there is only one grand prize winner for this year’s Victor Stream, and she is Mary Ann Grignon from Cape Coral, Fla.
Similar to previous drawings, we awaited the entry of all the data so that we were sure all the eligible contestants had an equal opportunity to be the lucky winner. When we were sure the data entry was complete, the winner was selected using a random number generator program. The selection technique was used to ensure total fairness and objectivity for all who participated in the 2015 MMS campaign. The program assigned each contributor a number, then it selected the winning number 19: Mary Ann Grignon. Please join me in congratulating Mary Ann and thanking her for being a part of this wonderful program.
During the 2014-2015 campaign year, MMS program contributions increased by more than $500 per month. This is an annual increase of more than $6,000. We are extremely pleased with everyone’s participation. We continue to make slow but steady progress. I sincerely thank all of you who have made this progress possible and look forward to your continued participation and support in the future.
As chair of the MMS committee, I also want to recognize the efforts of the members of our outstanding committee: Dan Spoone, Ray Campbell, Kathy Brockman, Kenny Maddox, George Holliday, and Carla Ruschival.
An important factor that affects the success of our convention campaign is the location and staffing of our MMS table. This year our table was located inside the ACB exhibit area, right next to the ACB Mini Mall, which was an excellent spot. Thanks to the members of the MMS program committee and the people who assisted them in staffing the table during the convention. This includes: Kathy Brockman and her husband, Pat; Lori Scharff; Dan and Leslie Spoone; and George Holliday. We also thank Lane Waters, Nancy Becker and the rest of our wonderful staff in our Minnesota office for their extraordinary assistance throughout the entire year and during the convention.
Once again, the campaign was very successful at bringing lots of new participants into the MMS program. We greatly appreciate everyone who contributes to the program. All contributions are important and they all add up to helping ACB and its affiliates.
If you want to become a participant in this excellent program, or wish to increase your contribution, please contact the Minnesota office, 1-800-866-3242, or contact me at (516) 887-1336. You can also go online; the form is available at
Again, congratulations to Mary Ann Grignon for winning the Victor Stream. Now, who will be the winner for 2016? In order to win, you have to participate. So sign up and be a new contributor, or increase your current contribution. You might already be the next big winner!